Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Make a Difference Award

The Make a Difference Award recognizes a member of the Ritenour educational community for their efforts in supporting the diverse needs of students academically, socially and emotionally in a variety of learning settings.

Individuals who qualify for this award:
Adaptive PE Instructors
Occupational Therapists
Physical Therapists
School Psychologists
Social Workers
Special Education Teachers
Speech and Language Pathologist
Special Education Paraprofessional

Any staff member in the district can nominate an individual who meets the qualifications. The criteria for nomination include the following:

  • Excellence in the support of meeting the diverse needs of all students
  • Helping to support an atmosphere of continued learning and growth for all students

For questions about nominating an employee, email Evelyn Gilliam.

Make a Difference Nomination  DUE Nov. 21, 2023

Bilal Ewing, Marion Elementary principal, is the Make A Difference Award honoree for 2022-2023.

Ewing is in his third year as principal at Marion Elementary School.  He has spent the majority of his 24-year educational career as an administrator in Ritenour - also serving as an assistant principal at Iveland Elementary, Hoech Middle School and Ritenour High School.  

Superintendent Dr. Chris Kilbride said, “Mr. Ewing naturally builds strong relationships with students, staff and families. He makes a difference daily for students and families by ensuring that all voices are heard and respected.”  

Bilal Ewing

Make a Difference Past Honorees

 Michael Thomas  Re-Entry Center  2008
 Anne Becherer  Marion Elementary  2009
 Cate Peterson  RHS/SSD  2010
 Anne Gerst  Marion/SSD  2011
 Jennifer Love  District  2012
 Christina Thompson  Ritenour High School  2013
 Sara Luesse  Iveland Elementary  2014
 Kay Castello  SEC/SSD  2015
 Michael Steven Thomas  District  2016
 Chrissy Phillips  Buder Elementary  2017
 Julie Kampschroeder  Ritenour High School  2018
 Jeremy Kane  Buder and Marvin Elementary  2019
 Tavonda Palmer  Ritenour High School  2020
 Michael Nobile  District  2021
 Alexander Terrance  Ritenour Middle School  2022
Bilal Ewing  Marion Elementary School  2023